By default, the Linutop OS features three modes: safe, locked and full persistent. To switch between the different modes, you should use the Linutop configuration editor.
This the default mode of the Linutop which is selected the first time you use it. The user data will be preserved when you turn your Linutop off, and it will be available the next time you start it up.
User data includes the user's documents and files, and the settings chosen for the system and its applications.
The system components and applications will be restored, which means that if you install an additional application, it will not be available after a reboot.
Full Persistence Mode
With this mode, the Linutop acts as a "real" computer: user data will be saved as with the Safe Mode, but you will also be able to modify permanently the system, that is to say to install and to remove any application or system component.
This mode is designed to fully lock the Linutop: you set up a default system using the Full Persistence mode, then you enable the Lock Mode. At every startup, the default system you set up will be loaded, erasing every change an user could have done during the previous session.
Users will not have any privileges and the administrator password will be required to perform administrative tasks. You can also restrict the user rights so that this password is asked before shutting the Linutop down or rebooting it.